Behind the Bill: Laura Langston

langs_laura_2014NA

1. What was your favourite book growing up?

I can’t pick just one. I remember being enthralled with the book of short stories my grandmother gave me at Christmas when I was maybe eight. A Collection of Stories for Girls I think it was called. By the time I was 11, I was hooked on Nancy Drew and I’d fallen in love with a series of Sue Barton nurse books too. She had red hair (how glamorous!) and helped save lives (how meaningful!). My next big love was a book called Mrs. Mike. In it, a 16 year old Boston girl moves to the Canadian wilderness and falls in love with a Mountie. It was a wonderful story with themes of overcoming hardship, resilience and living a life of purpose. In my teens I went through a Russian novelist phase (Anna Karenina was a favorite) and I also loved Interview With a Vampire by Anne Rice. I have eclectic taste.

2. Tell us about the first piece of writing you ever finished.

I was in Grade Four and I wrote a short story about a girl who was trapped in a box and managed to escape (somehow) so when her parents went to open the box, it was empty. I’m sure Freud would have loved it. My teacher did. I got five out of five.

3. If you could have lunch with one author, alive or dead, who would it be & why?

Oh, this is such a tough question. Just one? Really? Honestly, it depends on my mood. I’d love to sit down with Paulo Coelho or Madeleine L’Engle or maybe Meg Cabot because she’s funny. Today I’d like to lunch with JoJo Moyes because I adored her novel Me Before You and it would be a total fan girl moment, plus I could pick her brain about characterization. She tackled a difficult subject and created characters who aren’t necessarily likable, yet you couldn’t help but sympathize with them. It was a love story without a traditional happy ending and it worked very, very well. I’m in awe of that kind of talent.
4. If you could hang out with one of the characters from your book, who would you choose & why?

Because I spent so many months hanging out with Sloane and Isaac and I know them pretty well, I’d probably say Lexi, Sloane’s best friend. She’s a terrible hypochondriac but funny. I’d like to find out what makes her tick and why she’s so terrified of illness. I sense a story there.
5. Describe your book in 5 words.

Rich, thoughtful, absorbing and heartfelt.

langston_ArtofGettingStared_pbTHE ART OF GETTING STARED AT hits shelves September 9th across Canada!

Join in the blog tour this month! Our dedicated bloggers will be sharing their reviews along with their own thoughts on the one thing they wish they could tell their teenage selves about body image. The schedule is:

09/02 More Than Just Magic

09/03 Xpresso Reads

09/04 Chapter by Chapter

09/05 Mostly YA Lit

09/06 Padfoot’s Library

09/07 Maji Bookshelf

09/08 Pop Goes the Reader

09/09 Emilie’s Book World

09/10 Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

09/11 Conversations of a Reading Addict 0

9/12 Addie’s Book Blog

 

Leave a Reply

